Jack C. Massey Leadership Award

Jack C. Massey Leadership Award

Milton Johnson

2019 Honoree – Milton Johnson

Jack C. Massey Leadership Award

This Award was established in 1986 by Mr. Jack C. Massey and Mental Health America of Middle Tennessee. The Award is given every other year and honors individuals whose leadership and accomplishments have enriched the quality of life for citizens of our nation.

2019 Honoree – Milton Johnson

Mr. R. Milton Johnson was elected board chairman of HCA in December of 2014 and served as HCA Healthcare’s chief executive officer until his retirement in December of 2018.

Under Mr. Johnson’s leadership, HCA Healthcare has advanced clinical quality throughout its hospitals, using data from its more than 32 million patient encounters annually to identify leading clinical practices and continually improve patient care and save lives.  

A more than 36-year veteran of HCA Healthcare, Mr. Johnson has served in various financial and senior management positions for the company, including president of HCA Healthcare from 2011 – 2014. He has also served as head of the Tax Department, senior vice president and controller, and executive vice president and chief financial officer.

Mr. Johnson provides leadership to the healthcare industry and Nashville community through his service on various boards and organizations.  Currently, he serves as chairman of the Nashville Health Care Council and is immediate past chair of the Federation of American Hospitals, the Nashville Chamber of Commerce and The HCA Foundation.  Additionally, Mr. Johnson serves on the Siloam Health advisory board, the board of the United Way of Metropolitan Nashville and is a member of The Business Council.  

A graduate of Belmont University, Mr. Johnson also is a member of his alma mater’s Board of Trustees.  We were proud to honor Mr. Johnson with the Jack C. Massey Leadership Award on November 6, 2019. 

Previous Jack C. Massey Leadership Award Recipients

Ambassador Joe M. Rodgers (1986); Leah Rose Werthan (1988); Buddy Killen (1991); Governor Ned McWherter (1993); Senator Howard H. Baker, Jr. (1995); Annette Eskind (1997); Alyne Massey (1999); William O. Whetsell, Jr., M.D. (2001); William S. Cochran (2003); Orrin H. Ingram, John R. Ingram, David B. Ingram and Robin Ingram Patton (2005); Mayor Bill Purcell (2007); Amy Grant and Vince Gill (2009); Nicholas S. Zeppos (2011); Mike Curb (2013); Janet and Jim Ayers (2015); Colleen Conway Welch (2017)